Sculptures at the mSE Kunsthalle

The mSE Kunsthalle places a special emphasis on the art genre of sculpture. In our foyer and sculpture garden you will find works by the following artists:

Lois Anvidalfarei (b. 1962)

The South Tyrolean sculptor is represented with numerous works in the sculpture garden of the mSE Kunsthalle. For over thirty years, all his bronze sculptures have been dedicated to one theme: the human body. In the picture he can be seen in front of the plaster model of his sculpture "Mediterraneo", which is exhibited in Unterammergau.

Website of the artist

Ernst Barlach (1870–1938)

The collection of the mSE Kunsthalle owns two works by the sculptor: "The Herb Picker" from 1894 and the portrait bust "Tilla Durieux I" from 1912, which is currently on loan to the Leopold Museum in Vienna. Daniela Gregori has curated an exhibition there about the actress who inspired many great artists of her time to create works of art. 

To the exhibition

Felix Flesche

The artist, who works among other things as a sculptor and graphic artist, presents with the "Kippende Kuben" steel objects that can enter into the most diverse contexts, where they are quickly anthropomorphized by the viewer as a counterpart. Most recently, the "Kippende Kuben" entered a religious context at the Kunsthalle's "Passion im Tal" sculpture walk. Now, as loans in the sculpture garden, they are open to many other ways of access.

Wilhelm Lehmbruck (1881–1919)

The son of a miner, Lehmbruck studied at the Kunstakdemie Düsseldorf and traveled through Italy. His work, which is influenced by naturalism and expressionism, finds some attention in Paris before the First World War. It shows man as a type, interested in his suffering and in his spirit. During the war, Lehmbruck serves as a medic before being released due to hearing loss, allowing the oeuvre to reach a final creative peak. Lehmburck becomes one of the most important sculptors of the early 20th century.

Pierre Matter

The artist understands our present as a time of transition, in which the myths of the past return in the fusion of nature and technology. In his sculptures, which are shown as loans in the foyer of the Kunsthalle, man, animal and technology measure their hybrid forces.

Website of the artist

Alexander Polzin (b. 1973)

Polzin is a sculptor, painter, graphic artist, costume and stage designer, whose work is influenced by the world of theater and music. Thus, he also collaborated with the Hungarian composer György Kurtág (b. 1926), to whom the sculpture in the collection is dedicated.  

Website of the artist

Sibylle Semlitsch (b. 1968)

The artist has been working as a stone sculptor and letter engraver since 1997. The "Stele IV", which is on loan in the sculpture garden of the mSE Kunsthalle, is carved from pink marble and opens up the view of the landscape as if through the eye of a triple needle. The precise design of the sculpture rewards prolonged contemplation with the harmonious and lively proportion and reference of the parts of the arch to each other.

Giuseppe Spagnulo (1936–2016)

The Italian sculptor, who was an assistant in the studio of Lucio Fontana, is interested in the effect of the material in his works. He often works with solid steel, in large format and with emphasized concept. Many of these works are shown in public spaces.

Norbert Tadeusz (1940–2011)

Tadeusz studied painting at the Werkkunstschule Dortmund and at the Staatliche Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, where he became a master student of Josef Beuys. In the 1970s he was a lecturer in painting in Münster and Düsseldorf. Although Tadeusz is particularly known for his figurative painting, he was also active as a sculptor with great artistic success.

Webseite Norbert Tadeusz Estate

Bruno Wank (b. 1961)

The artist, seen here with his sculpture "Diversus" in the foundry, works not only as a sculptor but also as a conceptual artist, and runs and curates the exhibition space Verpackerei Gö together with his wife Michaela Wank. Wank .

Website of the artist

Sculpture garden

The sculpture garden is accessible all year round, but is not cleared. The gravel paths have a slight slope and are basically barrier-free. In the warm season there is some seating in the garden.

Skulpturen der mSE Kunsthalle

Die mSE Kunsthalle legt einen besonderen Schwerpunkt auf die Kunstgattung Skulptur. In unserem Foyer und im Skulpturengarten finden Sie Werke der folgenden Künstler:

Lois Anvidalfarei (geb. 1962)

Der Südtiroler Bildhauer ist mit zahlreichen Werken im Skulpturengarten der mSE Kunsthalle vertreten. Seit über dreißig Jahren sind alle seine Bronzeskulpturen einem Thema gewidmet: dem menschlichen Körper. Im Bild ist er vor dem Gipsmodell seiner Skulptur „Mediterraneo“ zu sehen, die in Unterammergau ausgestellt wird.

Webseite des Künstlers

Ernst Barlach (1870–1938)

Die Sammlung der mSE Kunsthalle besitzt zwei Werke des Bildhauers: „Die Krautpflückerin“ von 1894 und die Porträtbüste „Tilla Durieux I“ von 1912, die derzeit an das Leopold Museum in Wien verliehen ist. Daniela Gregori hat dort eine Ausstellung über die Schauspielerin kuratiert, die viele große Künstler ihrer Zeit zu Kunstwerken inspiriert hat. 

Zu der Ausstellung

Felix Flesche

Der Künstler, der unter anderem als Bildhauer und Grafiker arbeitet, stellt mit den „Kippenden Kuben“ Stahlobjekte vor, die in verschiedenste Kontexte eintreten können, wo sie vom Betrachter und der Betrachterin als ein Gegenüber schnell anthropomorphisiert werden. Zuletzt traten die „Kippenden Kuben“ beim Skulpturenweg „Passion im Tal“ der Kunsthalle in einen religiösen Kontext ein. Nun sind sie als Leihgaben im Skulpturengarten für viele weitere Zugangsweisen offen.

Wilhelm Lehmbruck (1881–1919)

Als Sohn eines Bergarbeiters studierte Lehmbruck an der Kunstakdemie Düsseldorf und bereiste Italien. Sein Werk, das von Naturalismus und Expressionismus beeinflusst ist, findet vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg in Paris einige Beeachtung. Es zeigt den Menschen als Typus, interessiert sich für sein Leiden und für seinen Geist. Im Krieg dient Lehmbruck als Sanitäter, bevor er wegen Schwerhörigkeit freigestellt wird und so das Oeuvre zu einem letzten Schaffenshöhepunkt führen kann. Lehmburck wird zu einem der bedeutendsten Bildhauer des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts.

Pierre Matter

Unsere Gegenwart begreift der Künstler als Übergangszeit, in der die Mythen der Vergangenheit in der Verschmelzung von Natur und Technik wiederkehren. In seinen Skulpturen, die als Leihgaben im Foyer der Kunsthalle gezeigt werden, messen Mensch, Tier und Technik ihre hybriden Kräfte.

Webseite des Künstlers

Alexander Polzin (geb. 1973)

Polzin ist ein Bildhauer, Maler, Grafiker, Kostüm- und Bühnenbildner, dessen Werk von der Welt des Theaters und der Musik geprägt ist. So arbeitete er auch mit dem ungarischen Komponisten György Kurtág (geb. 1926) zusammen, dem die Skulptur der Sammlung gewidmet ist.  

Webseite des Künstlers

Sibylle Semlitsch (geb. 1968)

Die Künstlerin arbeitet seit 1997 als Steinbildhauerin und Schriftgraveurin. Die „Stele IV“, die als Leihgabe im Skulpturengarten der mSE Kunsthalle steht, ist aus rosafarbenem Marmor gehauen und eröffnet den Blick auf die Landschaft wie durch ein dreifaches Nadelöhr. Die genaue Gestaltung der Skulptur belohnt eine längere Betrachtung mit der harmonischen und lebendigen Proportion und Bezugnahme der Teile des Bogens aufeinander.

Giuseppe Spagnulo (1936–2016)

Der italienische Bildhauer, der Assistent im Atelier von Lucio Fontana war, interessiert sich in seinen Werken für die Wirkung des Materials. Häufig arbeitet er mit massivem Stahl, in großem Format und mit betontem Konzept. Viele dieser Arbeiten werden im öffentlichen Raum gezeigt.

Norbert Tadeusz (1940–2011)

Tadeusz studierte Malerei an der Werkkunstschule Dortmund und an der Staatlichen Kunstakademie Düsseldorf, wo er Meisterschüler von Josef Beuys wurde. In den 70er Jahren war er Dozent für Malerei in Münster und Düsseldorf. Wenngleich Tadeusz besonders für seine figurative Malerei bekannt ist, war er auch als Bildhauer mit großem künstlerischen Erfolg tätig.

Webseite Norbert Tadeusz Estate

Bruno Wank (geb. 1961)

Der Künstler, hier mit seiner Skulptur „Diversus“ in der Gießerei zu sehen, arbeitet nicht nur als Bildhauer, sondern auch als Konzeptkünstler und betreibt und kuratiert den Ausstellungsraum Verpackerei Gö zusammen mit seiner Frau Michaela Wank .

Webseite des Künstlers

Skulpturengarten

Der Skulpturengarten ist das ganze Jahr zugänglich, wird aber nicht geräumt. Die Kieswege weisen ein leichtes Gefälle auf und sind grundsätzlich barrierefrei. In der warmen Jahreszeit gibt es einige Sitzmöglichkeiten im Garten.