fbpx

Dreary Winter

Little Ice Age

Around 1600

Little Ice Age: Winter delights before the catastrophe 

At the end of November 1618, a comet travels for weeks in the sky above the Holy Roman Empire, so large and bright that people can even see it with their naked eyes during the day. Like every major natural phenomenon, they interpret it as a heavenly sign – and it terrifies them. The Gospel of Luke provides confirmation: it is a punishment from God. And indeed, there have already been omens of great disaster. For decades, icy winters, plague and epidemics have been spreading, and a war that will rage for 30 years has just begun.

Starting in the second half of the 16th century, a cold spell—which is to influence the lives of many generations—holds the world in its grip. Temperatures drop by an average of two degrees Celsius, ocean currents change and the weather is capricious with long cold winters, storms and rainy summers. In the Alps, glaciers destroy mountain villages, in Northern Europe the waterways freeze over and cold and rain lead to poor harvests. Europe is stuck in a winter famine, and the situation is soon to be exacerbated by plague and the Thirty Years’ War.

At first, however, the Little Ice Age presents itself from its picturesque side with snow landscapes and winter pleasures, which fascinate artists in the Netherlands in particular. Ice-skaters, ice-fishermen or strollers populate the frozen bodies of water in their paintings and people trudge through the snow. Hendrick Avercamp (1585-1634) is considered the most famous winter painter. “The Mute of Kampen”, as the deaf-mute Dutchman is also known, brings the Little Ice Age to life in his paintings. He fails, however, to document a remarkable event: the comet which appears in the sky during Advent 1618 and which people interpret according to the Gospel of Luke as an omen of one of the cruelest punishments: hunger, misery and the Thirty Years’ War.

With fur collars and several petticoats, the onlookers venture onto the ice. Wolfgang Beltracchi begins creating the figures that gather on the ice to observe the comet. Avercamp worked on the basis of sketches in his studio.

From idea to painting

Wolfgang Beltracchi is painting the great comet C/1618 W1, which appeared in November 1618 over Europe, using the artistic voice of Hendrick Avercamp. The harsh economic and political reality of the early 17th century don’t appear anywhere in Avercamp’s body of work. Wolfgang Beltracchi now symbolizes these severe conditions with the “cruel comet” as a bad omen. The people on the ice pause to look up at the eerie sign.

What people at that time believed to be God’s punishment is still relevant today. Climate change upset the world and forced people to find new social and economic solutions in their struggle for survival, which continues to the present day: long-distance trade, which furthered prosperity, developed as did our secular world. Mathematicians’ and astronomers’ increasing knowledge, changes in agricultural cultivation methods, the expansion of trade routes and the conquest of the world promoted the emergence of early Enlightenment thinking. While research and teaching used to be reserved primarily for monks, scientists from the urban bourgeoisie now increasingly also claimed their right to scholarly discussions.

For “The Cruel Comet” Beltracchi appropriates Hendrick Avercamp’s painting style. The artist used a primer consisting of several layers of thinly applied smalt. Smalt is a pigment created using pulverized, cobalt glass.

Over the initial blue prime coat, he adds a semi-transparent layer of gray mixed with white lead. This preparatory work gives the paintings their frosty shimmer.

Now the ice is being populated! The primer is still clearly visible within the figures’ outlines.

The Little Ice Age

Diese besondere Art der Landschaftsmalerei zeugt von der Faszination der Maler für die eisige Natur und die Anpassung der Menschen an ihr Umfeld. Hendrick Avercamp gilt als berühmtester Wintermaler. This special kind of landscape painting testifies to the painters’ fascination for the icy environment surrounding them and peoples’ ability to adapt to their environment. Hendrick Avercamp is considered to be the most famous winter painter. tudio.

1. Dutch

Even though temperatures are falling in Europe and around the world, the first winter landscapes were created in the Netherlands, where landscape painting has a strong tradition. In 1565 Pieter Bruegel paints “The Hunters in the Snow”—the first snow-covered landscape painting in oil.

2. Folkloric

The pictures from the Little Ice Age portray the everyday life of the population. Rich and poor, young and old— they all share the space in the painting, the landscape, worries and joys of winter.

3. Nuanced

The painters masterfully capture the finest nuances and colors of snow, ice and sky in their paintings. Yellow, light blue, pink, grey and white—there is no limit to the glazes’ hues.

4. Joy and suffering

The suffering and joy experienced during winter are often portrayed side by side in the paintings. In Bruegel’s “The Hunters in the Snow”, hunters and dogs return to the village having only caught a single, skinny fox, a family burns their furniture—but in the background people are skating. In Avercamp’s works, tragic scenes can also be seen at second glance, such as the couple that have broken through the ice in “Ice Scene”.

5. Short phase

Starting in 1660, production of the winter pictures slowed down, although the temperatures hasn’t risen significantly. The precarious economic situation at the time paralyzed demand.

Eras of art in the KAIROS project

 Roman art

Byzantine icon painting

    Medieval art

    Early Netherlandish painting

    Italian Renaissance

German Renaissance

    Mannerism

    Early Baroque

Little Ice Age

Dutch Golden Age

    Rokoko

German Romanticism 

English Romanticism

Impressionism

Post-Impressionism

Symbolism

Art Nouveau

Futurism

Expressionism

Avant-garde

New Objectivity

Surrealism

Diversity of styles

PROJECT PAGE

fbpx

Winter ohne Märchen

kleine eiszeit

um 1600

Kleine Eiszeit: Winterfreuden vor der Katastrophe 

Ende November 1618 zieht ein Komet über Wochen seine Bahn am Himmel des Heiligen Römischen Reichs, so groß und hell, dass die Menschen ihn sogar tags mit bloßem Auge sehen. Wie jedes größere Naturereignis deuten sie auch dieses als himmlisches Zeichen – und es versetzt sie in Angst und Schrecken. Das Lukas-Evangelium gibt den Hinweis: Es ist eine Strafe Gottes. Und tatsächlich hat sich bereits großes Unheil angedeutet. Seit Jahrzehnten herrschen eisige Winter, Pest und Seuchen breiten sich aus und gerade hat ein Krieg begonnen, der 30 Jahre wüten wird.

Ab der zweiten Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts legt sich eine Kältewelle über die Natur, die das Leben vieler Generationen bestimmen soll. Die Temperaturen sinken um durchschnittlich zwei Grad Celsius, Ozeanströmungen verändern sich und das Wetter schlägt mit langen kalten Wintern, Stürmen und verregneten Sommern Kapriolen. In den Alpen zerstören Gletscher Bergdörfer, in Nordeuropa frieren die Wasserwege zu und weiträumig führen Kälte und Regen zu Missernten. Europa im Hungerwinter, bald begleitet von Pest und dem Dreißigjährigen Krieg.

Zunächst zeigt sich die Kleine Eiszeit jedoch auch von ihrer malerischen Seite mit Schneelandschaften und Wintervergnügen, die besonders Künstler in den Niederlanden faszinieren. Auf ihren Gemälden bevölkern Schlittschuhläufer, Eisfischer oder Flaneure die gefrorenen Gewässer und Menschen stapfen durch den Schnee. Hendrick Avercamp (1585-1634) gilt als der berühmteste Wintermaler. „Der Stumme von Kampen“, wie der taubstumme Niederländer auch genannt wird, gibt der Kleinen Eiszeit ein Gesicht. Ein bemerkenswertes Ereignis hält er jedoch nicht fest: den Kometen, der im Advent 1618 am Himmel erscheint und den die Menschen nach dem Lukas-Evangelium als Vorzeichen von einer der grausamsten Strafen deuten: von Hunger, Elend und dem Dreißigjährigen Krieg.

Mit Pelzkragen und mehreren Unterröcken wagen sich die Schaulustigen aufs Eis. Wolfgang Beltracchi legt die Figuren an, die sich auf dem Eis tummeln, um den Kometen zu beobachten. Avercamp arbeitete nach Skizzen im Atelier.

Von der Idee zum Gemälde

Wolfgang Beltracchi malt den großen Kometen C/1618 W1, der im November 1618 über Europa erscheint, in der Handschrift von Hendrick Avercamp. Die harte ökonomische und politische Realität des frühen 17. Jahrhunderts ist in Avercamps Werk nicht zu sehen. Wolfgang Beltracchi setzt sie nun mit dem „grausamen Kometen“ als böses Omen symbolisch ins Bild. Die Menschen auf dem Eis halten inne und betrachten das unheimliche Zeichen.

Was die Menschen damals als Strafe Gottes begriffen, besitzt bis heute Aktualität. Die Klimaveränderungen hoben die Welt aus den Fugen und zwangen die Menschen im Überlebenskampf zu neuen gesellschaftlichen und wirtschaftlichen Lösungen, die bis in die Gegenwart reichen: Der Fernhandel, der zu neuer Prosperität verhalf, ebenso wie unsere säkulare Welt entwickelten sich. Zunehmende Erkenntnisse von Mathematikern und Astronomen, Veränderungen in den Anbaumethoden, die Erweiterung der Handelswege und die Eroberung der Welt beförderten die Entstehung frühaufklärerischen Denkens. Waren Forschung und Lehre bisher vornehmlich Mönchen vorbehalten, beanspruchten nun zunehmend auch Wissenschaftler aus dem städtischen Bürgertum einen Raum für gelehrte Diskussionen.

Für „Der grausame Komet“ eignet sich Beltracchi die Malweise von Hendrick Avercamp an. Der Künstler nutzte eine Grundierung aus mehreren Schichten dünn aufgetragener Smalte. Smalte ist zerstoßenes und pigmentiertes Kobaltglas.

Über diese blaue Grundierung legte er eine halbtransparente Schicht aus mit Grau vermischtem Bleiweiß. Diese Vorarbeiten verleihen den Gemälden ihren frostigen Schimmer.

Nun bevölkert sich das Eis! – In den Figuren ist die Grundierung noch klar zu erkennen.

Die kleine Eiszeit

Diese besondere Art der Landschaftsmalerei zeugt von der Faszination der Maler für die eisige Natur und die Anpassung der Menschen an ihr Umfeld. Hendrick Avercamp gilt als berühmtester Wintermaler.

1. Niederländisch

Auch wenn in Europa und der ganzen Welt die Temperaturen sinken, finden sich die ersten Winterlandschaften zunächst in den Niederlanden, wo die Landschaftsmalerei eine feste Tradition aufweist. 1565 malt Pieter Bruegel mit den „Jägern im Schnee“ das erste verschneite Landschaftsgemälde in Öl.

2. Volkstümlich

Die Bilder der Kleinen Eiszeit zeigen den Alltag der Bevölkerung. Arm und Reich, Jung und Alt – sie teilen sich den Bildraum, die Landschaft, Sorgen und Freuden des Winters.

3. Nuanciert

Die Maler verstehen es meisterhaft, die feinsten Zwischentöne und Färbungen von Schnee, Eis und Himmel in ihren Bildern festzuhalten. Gelb, hellblau, rosafarben, grau und weiß – den Lasuren sind keine Grenzen gesetzt.

4. Freude neben Leid

Leid und Freude des Winters stehen in den Gemälden oft nebeneinander. Schon bei Bruegels Jägern im Schnee kehren Jäger und Hunde allein mit einem mageren Fuchs als Beute zum Dorf zurück, eine Familie verbrennt ihre Möbel – im Hintergrund aber laufen Menschen Schlittschuh. Auch bei Avercamp sind auf den zweiten Blick tragische Szenen zu sehen, wie das im Eis eingebrochenen Paar in „Auf dem Eis“.

5. Kurze Phase

Ab 1660 erlahmt die Produktion der Winterbilder, ohne dass es bedeutend wärmer geworden wäre. Die prekäre ökonomische Situation lähmt die Nachfrage.

Weitere Epochen im Kairos-Projekt

 

Vorbilder auf Putz
Römische Antike

Göttliche Bilder
Byzantinische Ikonenmalerei

Tränensäcke und Doppelkinn
Deutsche Renaissance

KAIROS
Der richtige Moment