fbpx

POETRY BY BRUSHSTROKE

English Romanticism

First half of the 19th century

English Romanticism: TURNER DISCOVERS THE EFFECTS OF LIGHT

Where do we come from, how was life born on earth? Charles Darwin finds an answer to this question key to mankind during his voyage of nearly five years by ship in the 19th century— an answer that will change the prevailing beliefs about life. He discovers that species are adapting to their environment and are becoming increasingly complex. Darwin’s modern theory of evolution thus contradicts the theory of creation, according to which God created all beings in their present form and man in his image, and marks the beginning of a new worldview. The painter William Turner is living at the same time in England. Like Darwin, he believes it is time to break through to new ways of thinking and turn towards nature. The two men met in London’s elite club “Athenaeum”.

Romanticism has its origins in English literature, which rejects the Rationalism of the Enlightenment and devotes itself to nature and the world of emotions. Landscapes as untouched and remote sceneries hold the attention of poets like Blake and Wordsworth. They also influence the painters who find their new focus in landscape motifs and seascapes, and experiment with color effects. The most famous English Romantic artist is William Turner, the “inventor of the atmospheric landscape”. In his work, color begins to emancipate itself from form. Contours dissolve, surfaces blur and form another dimension. Relief-like colors override form, yet leave room for detailed scenes. Long before the Impressionists, the artist focused on conveying the effect of his motifs under certain lighting conditions. Turner is a pioneer of art, just as his contemporary Darwin is a pioneer of science.

Pastel colors, hazy contours, fine details in between – Wolfgang Beltracchi works on the picture of the HMS Beagle in the Devonport harbor he is painting in the artistic voice of William Turner.

DEPARTURE TO ANOTHER WORLD

On 27 December 1831, the HMS Beagle sets sail. The two-master sails around the world on its journey of nearly five years, commissioned to map the coasts of South America. On board is the young Charles Darwin, who will develop the theory of evolution from the material he collects during his scientific research. Back in London, the expedition gives him access to the Athenaeum Club, open only to high-profile members of distinguished society. Among them is the painter William Turner, who is known for his interest in the natural sciences. The researcher and the artist probably meet in this circle, with Turner learning of Darwin’s observations and scientific conclusions, which initially cause an uproar. Darwin therefore intensively discussed his theory of evolution before publishing it in 1859.

Today we know that Charles Darwin probably achieved the greatest breakthrough for our modern understanding of the origin and evolution of life. Looking back, the departure of the HMS Beagle is therefore the departure towards a new worldview. How would William Turner have painted this moment? Wolfgang Beltracchi answers this question with a painting created using the artistic voice of Turner. The painting technique of the English artist was already pointing towards the modern age. Pastel-colored layers of pastose flow into each other, sometimes interrupted by accents of strong color and contours. In his work, Beltracchi orientates himself on Turner’s seascapes. Using Turner’s artistic voice, he applies layers of paint, molds them into form and light, and has the “Beagle” set course for the New World under the bright, heavenly skies. On the horizon, a second ship is already disappearing into the light.

In various preliminary studies, the artist works on the possible composition of the picture using watercolors until form and light harmonize.

Wolfgang Beltracchi scrapes up the paint, from which the superfluous oil has been separated, with a putty knife.

The thick paint is applied with putty knives, painting knives, rags, brush handles, and paint that is almost dry shaped with fingers to gain the corporality of Turner’s artistic voice.

The first strong colors glow in the predominantly pastel background. These kind of highlights are typical of Turner’s artistic voice.

English Romanticism

John Constable and William Turner are the most important representatives of English Romanticism. The predominant motifs are landscapes, which are, however, painted using very diverse techniques.

1. DREAM-LIKE

Every landscape seems perfect. Because Romanticism has no ambitions to be documental. It creates dream worlds, composed of sketches from the painters’ own imaginations.

2. SEA OF LIGHT

In Romanticism, colors are used for the first time as a means of creating a mystical, eerie or melancholic mood. The atmosphere created in this way takes the viewer to a distant world, far away from real life.

3. KNIGHTLY

The expression “romantic“ derives from the French word “roman“, which goes back to the vernacular term for knights novels in the Middle Ages. The new intellectual movement of Romanticism chose this label to distinguish itself from classical antiquity.

4. UPGRADING WATERCOLORS

Watercolor painting already existed in ancient Egypt. In later eras, the artists mostly used watercolors for creating studies, as Dürer and Rembrandt did. William Turner, who regarded watercolors as independent works, first gained broad recognition for this technique.

5. FREEDOM OF STYLE

The artists of English Romanticism approached similar motifs in very different ways. Constable changed from a naturalistic technique to a painting technique that emphasizes the brushstroke. With his ever-progressing dematerialization of motifs, Turner laid the foundation for modern art.

Eras of art in the KAIROS project

 Roman art

Byzantine icon painting

    Medieval art

    Early Netherlandish painting

    Italian Renaissance

German Renaissance

    Mannerism

    Early Baroque

Little Ice Age

Dutch Golden Age

    Rokoko

German Romanticism 

English Romanticism

Impressionism

Post-Impressionism

Symbolism

Art Nouveau

Futurism

Expressionism

Avant-garde

New Objectivity

Surrealism

Diversity of styles

PROJECT PAGE

fbpx

Poesie per Pinselstrich

Englische Romantik

Erste Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts

Englische Romantik: Turner entdeckt die Wirkung des Lichts

Woher kommen wir, wie entwickelte sich das Leben auf der Erde? Auf diese zentrale Frage der Menschheit findet Charles Darwin auf seiner fast fünfjährigen Schiffsreise im 19. Jahrhundert eine Antwort, die das herrschende Weltbild umkrempeln wird. Er entdeckt, dass Arten sich ihrer Umwelt anpassen und dabei immer komplexer entwickeln. Damit widerspricht Darwins moderne Evolutionstheorie der Schöpfungsgeschichte, nach der Gott alle Wesen nach ihrer jetzigen Art und den Menschen nach seinem Ebenbild geschaffen hat und markiert den Beginn einer neuern Weltanschauung. Zur gleichen Zeit in England lebt der Maler William Turner. Wie Darwin steht er für den Aufbruch zu neuen Sichtweisen und für die Hinwendung zur Natur. Im Londoner Elite-Club „Athenaeum“ sind sich die beiden Männer begegnet.

Die Romantik findet ihren Ursprung in der englischen Literatur, die sich von der Vernunftorientierung der Aufklärung abwendet und der Natur und Gefühlswelt hingibt. Die Landschaft als unberührte und weltabgewandte Szenerie beschäftigt Dichter wie Blake und Wordsworth. Sie beeinflussen auch die Maler, die in Landschaftsmotiven und Seestücken ihren neuen Schwerpunkt finden und mit Farbwirkungen experimentieren. Der berühmteste Künstler der englischen Romantik ist William Turner, der „Entdecker der Stimmungslandschaft“. Bei ihm beginnt die Farbe, sich gegenüber der Form zu emanzipieren. Konturen lösen sich auf, Flächen verwischen und formen eine weitere Dimension. Reliefartig setzten sich Farben über Form hinweg und lassen doch Raum für detaillierte Szenen. Schon lange vor den Impressionisten hebt der Künstler darauf ab, die Wirkung seiner Motive unter bestimmten Lichtverhältnissen zu vermitteln. Turner ist ein Wegbereiter für die Kunst, so wie sein Zeitgenosse Darwin ein Wegbereiter für die Naturwissenschaften ist.

Pastellige Farben, schemenhafte Konturen, dazwischen feine Details – Wolfgang Beltracchi legt in der Handschrift von William Turner das Bild von der HMS Beagle im Hafen von Devonport an.

Aufbruch in eine andere Welt

Am 27. Dezember 1831 sticht die HMS Beagle in See. Der Zweimaster umsegelt auf seiner fast fünfjährigen Reise die Welt, im Auftrag, die Küsten Südamerikas zu kartographieren. An Bord ist der junge Charles Darwin, der aus dem gesammelten Material seiner naturwissenschaftlichen Beobachtungen die Evolutionstheorie entwickeln wird. Zurück in London verschafft ihm die Forschungsreise Zugang zum Athenaeum Club, in dem sich trifft, was Rang und Namen hat. Darunter auch der Maler William Turner, der für sein Interesse an den Naturwissenschaften bekannt ist. Der Forscher und der Künstler treffen in diesem Zirkel vermutlich aufeinander und Turner erfährt von Darwins Beobachtungen und Schussfolgerungen, die zunächst für Empörung sorgen. Intensiv diskutiert er daher seine Evolutionstheorie, bevor er sie im Jahr 1859 veröffentlicht.

Heute wissen wir, dass Charles Darwin den wohl größten Durchbruch für unser modernes Verständnis von der Entstehung und Entwicklung des Lebens erzielt hat. Die Abfahrt der HMS Beagle ist daher rückblickend der Aufbruch zu einer neuen Weltanschauung. Wie hätte William Turner diesen Moment gemalt? Wolfgang Beltracchi geht der Frage mit einem Bild in der Handschrift Turners nach. Die Maltechnik des englischen Künstlers wies bereits in die Moderne. Pastos aufgetragene Pastelltöne fließen ineinander, werden teilweise von kräftigen Farbakzenten und Umrissen unterbrochen. Beltracchi orientiert sich an Seestücken Turners. In dessen künstlerischer Handschrift trägt er Farbenschichten auf, modelliert sie zu Form und Licht und lässt die “Beagle” unter einem leuchtenden Himmelsbogen Kurs nehmen auf die Neue Welt. Am Horizont verliert sich ein zweites Schiff bereits im Licht.

In diversen Vorstudien skizziert der Künstler in Aquarellen den möglichen Bildaufbau bis Form und Licht im Einklang sind.

Wolfgang Beltracchi nimmt die von überflüssigem Öl getrennte Farbe mit einem Spachtel auf.

Das Material wird mit Spachteln, Messern, Lappen, Pinselstielen bearbeitet und fast trockenes Material wird mit den Fingern modelliert, um die Körperlichkeit in Turners Handschrift wiederzugeben.

Die ersten kräftigen Farben blitzen durch den überwiegend pastellfarbenen Hintergrund. Diese Form von Highlights gehören zur Handschrift William Turners.

Englische Romantik

John Constable und William Turner sind die wichtigsten Vertreter der englischen Romantik. Das vorherrschende Thema ist die Landschaft, technisch wird es jedoch sehr unterschiedlich umgesetzt.

1. Träumerisch

Jede Landschaft wirkt perfekt. Denn die Romantik kennt keinerlei dokumentarischen Anspruch. Sie schafft Traumwelten, komponiert aus Skizzen und eigenen Vorstellungen.

2. Lichtermeer

In der Romantik werden erstmals gezielt Farben als Mittel eingesetzt, um eine mystische, unheimliche oder melancholische Stimmung zu erzielen. Die damit erzeugte Atmosphäre entführt den Betrachter in eine ferne Welt, weit weg vom realen Leben.

3. Ritterlich

Der Begriff „romantisch“ stammt vom französischen Wort „roman“, das auf die volkssprachlichen Ritterromane des Mittelalters zurückgeht. Die neue geistige Strömung der Romantik wählte dieses Label um sich vom Antike-Bezug der Klassik abzugrenzen.

4. Aufwertung des Aquarells

Die Aquarellmalerei gab es schon im alten Ägypten. In späteren Epochen malten die Künstler Aquarelle meist zu Studienzwecken, wie zum Beispiel Dürer oder Rembrandt. Breite Anerkennung erlangt die Technik erst durch William Turner, der Aquarelle als eigenständige Werke ansah.

5. Freiheit der Technik

Die Künstler der englischen Romantik widmen sich ähnlichen Motiven auf ganz unterschiedliche Art und Weise. Constable wechselt von einer naturalistischen Technik zu einer Malweise, die besonders den Pinselduktus in den Vordergrund stellt. Turner legt mit seiner immer fortschreitenden Entmaterialisierung des Motivs den Grundstein für die Moderne.

Epochen im Kairos-Projekt

 Römische Kunst

Byzantinische Ikonenmalerei

    Mittelalterliche Kunst

    Altniederländische Malerei

    Italienische Renaissance

Deutsche Renaissance

    Manierismus

    Frühbarock

Kleine Eiszeit

Das Goldene Zeitalter

    Rokoko

Deutsche Romantik 

Englische Romantik

Impressionismus

Post-Impressionismus

Symbolismus

Jugendstil

Futurismus

Expressionismus

Avantgarde

Neue Sachlichkeit

Surrealismus

Vielfalt der Stile

PROJEKTSEITE