fbpx

Triumph of beauty

Art Nouveau

ca. 1890–1910

Art Nouveau: Gustav Klimt on the path to modernity

The 1890s mark the close of a dynamic, productive century in Europe. The Franco-German War in the 1870s was followed by a long period of peace, which fostered an economic and cultural upswing. In 1896, the first Olympic Games of modern times are held in Athens. With the second wave of the industrial revolution, affordable mass-produced goods fill the stores – which at the same time has a detrimental impact on the sale of handcrafted goods.

Art Nouveau artists oppose the mass trend; they value and strive for individuality. They want art to be everywhere, combine function and aesthetics and celebrate nature with its uniqueness and sweeping forms. In addition to paintings from personalities such as Gustav Klimt, Franz von Stuck and Alfons Mucha, interior design during this period is new and unique. With elaborate decorations, natural motifs and floral elements, art celebrates its entry into everyday life.

At the end of the 19th century, many artists turned away from traditional art ideals and sought modernity in beauty and originality, inspired by the shapes and colors of nature. Among the most famous people in this movement are Alfons Mucha and Gustav Klimt. The latter founded the Vienna Secession art movement in 1897 and became an icon of Art Nouveau, which was the most important style of the movement. He focuses on beauty and femininity in his work. He is especially well-known for his “Golden Phase”, in which he surrounds his models with richly decorated decorations and ornaments. The highlight of this phase is his most famous painting “The Kiss”.

In preliminary studies, Wolfgang works on Gustav Klimt’s facial expression in his Swiss studio.

Gustav Klimt did not attach any importance to his own life and death in his paintings. In his works he rather strived for a timeless representation of his profound motifs. Death, in several of his paintings, thus also appears as the inevitable last instance of life – without, however, frightening the individual human being. Despite his strong position in the Vienna Secession, he emancipates himself from the rejection of historicism and naturalism. His artistic voice develops further, motifs gain depth, surfaces are filled with a restless brushwork and short strokes. Shapes such as flowers and houses are bordered by dark, mostly black, lines. Klimt sets out to redefine his artistic voice, to develop himself as an artist, and at the end of his life is about to break through to modernity. If death hadn’t taken him at the age of 55, confrontation with his own self would have been a logical step in his development. Wolfgang Beltracchi takes the step in his work. Die Bildergalerie zeigt, wie das Gemälde entsteht.

Developing the artistic voice of Gustav Klimt – Wolfgang and Helene Beltracchi research for the painting “Charon”.

In his preliminary studies Wolfgang Beltracchi deals intensively with Gustav Klimt’s facial expressions and the question of how he would have seen himself in the face of his approaching death.

The artist works on the mirror image of the unfinished painting “The Bride”. To the right next to it is a preliminary sketch of “Lady With Fan”. He later replaced this motif with the ferryman Charon.

Vivid colors and strong contrasts – Wolfgang Beltracchi beings applying paint to his work “Charon”.

Art Nouveau

Gustav Klimt, Alfons Mucha and Franz von Stuck shaped the Art Nouveau movement in different ways. Their various techniques and approaches show that Art Nouveau does not specify a uniform style. The essence of the movement lies in the common belief of the importance of individuals.

1. HIGH TIME FOR SOMETHING NEW

The German name for the movement – “Jugendstil” – refers to the cultural magazine “Jugend” for young people, which presented art movements that contradicted the prevailing historicism of the time. In addition to other movements such as Impressionism, it paid particular attention to Art Nouveau. Outside of Germany, the names “Secessionstil” and “Art Nouveau” were also used for the movement. Various styles of Art Nouveau developed in different countries depending on their cultural background.

2. QUITE BEAUTIFULLY FUNCTIONAL

In addition to painting, Art Nouveau also influenced architecture, furniture production and handicrafts. The combination of aesthetics and functionality suddenly took center stage.

3. FULL OF CURVES

Art Nouveau is characterized by floral decorations with dynamic lines that have their own unique symmetry. Alfons Mucha, a Czech painter and graphic artist, is still the most renowned representative of this form of Art Nouveau to this day.

4. UNITED

From artists’ workshops to art academies up to artists’ groups: Art Nouveau was the first time that an increasing number of artist groups emerged, separating themselves from existing institutions, among them the Munich Secession (1892) and the Vienna Secession (1897).

5. IN TOTAL

In Art Nouveau, entire exhibitions were arranged as overall concepts. The Beethoven exhibition at the Vienna Secession in 1902 is an example of this: works by 20 artists were arranged around the Beethoven statue by Max Klinger as a “Gesamtkunstwerk” (total artwork).

Eras of art in the KAIROS project

 Roman art

Byzantine icon painting

    Medieval art

    Early Netherlandish painting

    Italian Renaissance

German Renaissance

    Mannerism

    Early Baroque

Little Ice Age

Dutch Golden Age

    Rokoko

German Romanticism 

English Romanticism

Impressionism

Post-Impressionism

Symbolism

Art Nouveau

Futurism

Expressionism

Avant-garde

New Objectivity

Surrealism

Diversity of styles

PROJECT PAGE

fbpx

Triumph der Schönheit

Jugendstil

ca. 1890–1910

Jugendstil: Gustav Klimt auf dem Weg zur Moderne

Die 1890er Jahre schließen ein bewegendes Jahrhundert in Europa ab. Nach dem deutsch-französischen Krieg in den 70ern folgte eine lange Zeit des Friedens, die einen Aufschwung von Wirtschaft und Kultur begünstigte., 1896 werden die ersten olympischen Spiele der Neuzeit in Athen ausgetragen. Mit der zweiten Welle der industriellen Revolution kommt erschwingliche Massenware in die Geschäfte – und drängt dabei die kunsthandwerkliche Tradition zurück.

Die Künstler des Jugendstils – auch bezeichnet als Art Nouveau – widersetzen sich dem Massentrend. Sie suchen die Individualität. Sie wollen, dass die Kunst die Menschen überall umgibt, sie verbinden Funktion und Ästhetik und feiern die Natur mit ihrer Einzigartigkeit und den geschwungenen Formen. Neben der Malerei mit Persönlichkeiten wie Gustav Klimt, Franz von Stuck und Alfons Mucha erinnert das ausgefallene Interior an diese Zeit. Mit aufwendigen Dekorationen, Naturmotiven und floralen Elemente feiert die Kunst ihren neuen Einzug in das Alltägliche.

Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts wenden sich viele Künstler von den traditionellen Kunstidealen ab und suchen die Modernität in Schönheit und Originalität, sie lassen sich inspirieren von Formen und Farben der Natur. Zu den berühmtesten Namen dieser Bewegung zählen Alfons Mucha und Gustav Klimt. Letzterer begründet 1897 die Wiener Secession und wird zu einer Ikone des Jugendstils als deren bedeutendster Stilrichtung. Dabei rückt er die Schönheit und Weiblichkeit in das Zentrum seiner Malerei. Besonders bekannt ist er für seine „goldene Phase“. Seine Modelle umgibt er mit einem reichlich geschmückten Dekor und Ornamenten. Höhepunkt dieser Phase bildet sein berühmtestes Gemälde „Der Kuss“.

In Vorstudien befasst sich Wolfgang Beltracchi in seinem Schweizer Atelier mit dem Ausdruck von Gustav Klimt.

Seinem eigenen Leben und Sterben hat Gustav Klimt in seinen Bildern keine Bedeutung zugemessen. In seinen Werken strebte er eine eher zeitlose Darstellung seiner durchaus tiefgründigen Motive an. So erscheint auch der Tod in mehreren seiner Bilder als unausweichliche, letzte Instanz des Lebens – ohne jedoch den einzelnen Menschen zu schrecken. Trotz seiner starken Positionierung in der Wiener Secession emanzipiert er sich von der Ablehnung des Historismus und dem Naturalismus. Seine Handschrift entwickelt sich weiter, Motive gewinnen an Tiefe, Flächen werden mit einem unruhigen Pinselduktus und kurzen Strichen gefüllt. Formen, wie Blumen und Häuser, finden ihre Abgrenzung in dunklen, meist schwarzen, Linien. Klimt bricht auf, um seine Handschrift neu zu definieren, sich als Künstler zu entwickeln und steht zum Ende seines Lebens vor dem Durchbruch zur Moderne. Hätte der Tod ihn nicht mit 55 Jahren geholt, wäre die Auseinandersetzung mit seinem Selbst ein logischer Schritt in seiner Entwicklung gewesen. Wolfgang Beltracchi nimmt ihn vor. Die Bildergalerie zeigt, wie das Gemälde entsteht.

Die Entwicklung der Handschrift von Gustav Klimt – Wolfgang und Helene Beltracchi bei ihren Recherchen für das Gemälde „Charon“.

In seinen Vorstudien befasst Wolfgang Beltracchi intensiv mit der Mimik von Gustav Klimt und der Frage wie dieser sich im Angesicht des nahenden Todes selbst gesehen hätte.

Der Künstler arbeitet an der gespiegelten Darstellung des unvollendeten Gemäldes „Die Braut“. Rechts daneben die Vorzeichnung von „Dame mit Fächer“. Dieses Motiv ersetzt er später durch den Fährmann Charon.

Lebendige Farben und starke Kontraste – Wolfgang Beltracchi beginnt mit dem Farbauftrag für das Gemälde „Charon“.

Jugendstil

Gustav Klimt, Alfons Mucha und Franz von Stuck prägten den Jugendstil auf unterschiedliche Art und Weise. Ihre verschiedenen Techniken und Ansätze zeigen, dass der Jugendstil keine einheitliche Form vorgibt. Die Essenz der Strömung liegt in dem gemeinsamen Gedanken an die Wichtigkeit des Individuellen.

1. Zeit für Neues

Der Name geht auf die Münchner Kulturzeitschrift „Jugend“ zurück, die die wachsenden Gegenbewegungen zum vorherrschenden Historismus vorstellte. Neben anderen Strömungen wie dem Impressionismus widmete sie dem „Jugendstil“ besonders viel Aufmerksamkeit. Außerhalb Deutschlands waren auch die Namen „Sezessionsstil“ und „Art nouveau“ gebräuchlich. Je nach kulturellem Hintergrund entwickelten sich in den verschiedenen Ländern unterschiedliche Ausprägungen des Jugendstils.

2. Ganz schön funktional

Neben der Malerei beeinflusste der Jugendstil auch die Architektur, Möbelherstellung und das Kunsthandwerk. Die Verbindung von Ästhetik und Funktionalität stand plötzlich im Vordergrund.

3. Schwungvoll

Florale Dekoration mit dynamische Linien, die sich in einer eigenen Symmetrie zueinander verhalten, kennzeichnen den Jugendstil. Alfons Mucha, ein tschechischer Maler und Grafiker, ist bis heute der namhafteste Repräsentant für diese Form des Jugendstils.

4. Vereint

Von der Künstlerwerkstatt, über die Kunstakademie zu den Künstlergruppen: Im Jugendstil entstehen das erste Mal vermehrt Künstlergruppen, die sich von bestehenden Institution abspalteten, wie z.B. die Münchner Secession (1892) und die Wiener Secession (1897).

5. Das große Ganze

Im Jugendstil wurden ganze Ausstellungen als Gesamtkonzeptionen angelegt. Beispielhaft steht dafür die Beethovenausstellung der Wiener Secession im Jahr 1902: Die Werke von 20 Künstlern wurden um die Beethovenstatue von Max Klinger als Gesamtkunstwerk arrangiert.

Epochen im Kairos-Projekt

 Römische Kunst

Byzantinische Ikonenmalerei

    Mittelalterliche Kunst

    Altniederländische Malerei

    Italienische Renaissance

Deutsche Renaissance

    Manierismus

    Frühbarock

Kleine Eiszeit

Das Goldene Zeitalter

    Rokoko

Deutsche Romantik 

Englische Romantik

Impressionismus

Post-Impressionismus

Symbolismus

Jugendstil

Futurismus

Expressionismus

Avantgarde

Neue Sachlichkeit

Surrealismus

Vielfalt der Stile

PROJEKTSEITE