fbpx

CELEBRATING EVERYDAY LIFE

THE GOLDE AGE

17th century

The golden age: The new everyday life through the eyes of Vermeer

While the Baroque period was sweeping a wave of extravagance across the regions of Europe shaped by the church and feudalism, another, more down-to-earth style was emerging in the Netherlands. It was inspired by the everyday lives of a growing middle class, who had achieved prosperity in the young, tolerant, cosmopolitan republic with its flourishing trade. Their longing for images to be captured of their own successful lives led to an unprecedented demand for art, with hundreds of painters churning out genre paintings, portraits, still lives and other types of artwork in quick succession. Among the artists of this time was Anders Jan Vermeer. Only 37 paintings are known to have been produced by his hand, but most of them are absolute masterpieces. His secret lies in his subjects’ graceful stances and, even more importantly, in his special use of light. Vermeer’s painting technique was truly revolutionary. Even his contemporaries marveled at the interplay between light and shadow, his works full of tiny reflections making them reminiscent of photographs. To this very day, researchers have been left puzzled by his unusual technique and are still trying to work out whether he used any technical means to learn to see motifs in a new way. And if so, which tools he had at his fingertips.

Wolfgang Beltracchi in ZOTT Artspace in Munich. After a month of planning, the recreation of Vermeer’s home studio is complete. Beltracchi experiments with adjusting the camera obscura – a technical tool that Vermeer may have had at his disposal.

MEASURING HEAVEN AND EARTH – AND THE HUMAN SPIRIT

The 17th century was marked by a paradigm shift. Science had previously been restricted by tight limits placed on it by the church. Anything that called into question the existence of a divine plan was scorned, if not completely repressed. However, seafarers and merchants were reliant on astronomy and cartography, meaning that new methods began to be used to investigate and measure the earth and space. Jan Vermeer recorded this progress in two famous paintings, considered by some to be a pair: The Astronomer, which he painted in 1668, and The Geographer, which he began working on in the same year.

At the same time, Baruch Spinoza was formulating his theoretical construct, according to which there is no dualism between God and the world, but rather the two form a single entity. This groundbreaking theory turned the philosopher into one of the greatest scholars of the 17th century.

Spinoza could even have served as inspiration for Jan Vermeer if he had gone on to create a third painting to go alongside The Astronomer and The Geographer – especially since the painter and philosopher both lived in the Dutch city of Delft and knew each other. Perhaps Vermeer even ordered the very lenses from him that he could have used to visualize the light effects against the shaded background that remain unique to this very day. The lasting impact that Spinoza’s anonymously published philosophical work was to have on the modern world only became clear much later. Drawing on the knowledge available to us more than 250 years after Spinoza’s time, Wolfgang Beltracchi painted the philosopher in a study like the one that had already served as the backdrop for The Astronomer and The Geographer.

The team at ZOTT Artspace recreated Vermeer’s study as depicted in The Astronomer and The Geographer. Test photos like these were used to examine the composition of the image.

It all begins with “a point”. The initial layers are painted over a sketched outline that lays down every detail and focuses particularly on the vanishing point and the accurate perspective lines it is used to create.

The photograph shows the points of light on the ink bottle, which are created by the light being reflected on the surface.

This enables the painter to recreate the points of light so characteristic of Vermeer’s work.

The golden age

The arts benefited on an unprecedented scale from the economic prosperity enjoyed by the young Dutch Republic. In the middle of the 17th century, thousands and thousands of pieces were said to have been produced every year. Although only around ten percent of these have survived, old Dutch paintings can be found in countless galleries around the world.

1. Tangible success

The Golden Age brought great wealth to traders, merchants, artisans and farmers. They wanted to see their status reflected in their country’s artwork. This resulted in artists’ focus shifting to the everyday lives of their subjects, especially the middle class.

2. Remarkable realism

Rembrandt, Vermeer and van der Spelt measured their abilities according to how true to life they could make their paintings. This notion dates back to antiquity and mirrors the famous contest between Parrhasius and Zeuxis, when the former was heralded the better artist thanks to his painting of a deceptively realistic curtain. Rembrandt repeats this deception in his piece entitled The Holy Family with a Curtain.

3. Creation of space

The use of perspective is a legacy of the Renaissance. The painters used the technique of pronounced shortening to increase the illusion of depth and extend the pictorial space. This method is not only used when painting landscapes, but is also applied to studios, studies, lounges, courtyards and banquet halls.

4. Patriotism

In 1648, the Netherlands finally won their hard-earned independence from the Spanish crown. The feelings of patriotism among the country’s artists are reflected in their fondness of painting landscapes depicting the characteristic elements of the Dutch countryside.

5. Niches

Less notable Dutch artists sought out their fortune by developing areas of specialism. Besides painting the typical landscapes or portraits, some set about concentrating on unusual niches, such as still lifes of fish.

Eras of art in the KAIROS project

 Roman art

Byzantine icon painting

    Medieval art

    Early Netherlandish painting

    Italian Renaissance

German Renaissance

    Mannerism

    Early Baroque

Little Ice Age

Dutch Golden Age

    Rokoko

German Romanticism 

English Romanticism

Impressionism

Post-Impressionism

Symbolism

Art Nouveau

Futurism

Expressionism

Avant-garde

New Objectivity

Surrealism

Diversity of styles

PROJECT PAGE

fbpx

Es lebe der Alltag

Goldenes Zeitalter

17. Jahrhundert

Goldenes Zeitalter: Der neue Alltag im Licht von Vermeer

Während in den klerikal und feudal geprägten Regionen Europas der Barock seine üppigen Blüten treibt, entwickelt sich in den Niederlanden andere, nüchternere Stilrichtung. Sie findet ihre Motive im Alltag einer wachsenden Mittelschicht, die in der jungen, toleranten und weltoffenen Republik, mit ihrem florierenden Handel zu Wohlstand kommt. Sie sehnt sich nach Motiven aus dem eigenen erfolgreichen Leben und weckt so eine nie gesehene Nachfrage nach Kunst: Hunderte Maler produzieren wie am Fließband Genrebilder, Porträts, Stillleben und anderen Gattungen. Anders Jan Vermeer. Von ihm sind nur 37 Gemälde bekannt, überwiegend absolute Meisterwerke. Ihr Geheimnis liegt in der anmutigen Haltung der Menschen, vor allem aber in dem besonderen Licht. Vermeers Maltechnik war revolutionär. Schon Zeitgenossen bewunderten das Spiel von Licht und Schatten, gespickt mit winzigen Reflexionen, die uns an Fotografien erinnern. Diese außergewöhnliche Technik lässt Forscher bis heute rätseln, ob und welche technischen Hilfsmittel Vermeer verwendet hat, um seine Motive „neu Sehen“ zu lernen.

Wolfgang Beltracchi im ZOTT Artspace Munich. Nach einem Monat Planung steht das Raummodell des Ateliers in Vermeers Haus. Beltracchi experimentiert mit einer Abwandlung der Camera Obscura – ein technisches Hilfsmittel, das Vermeer benutzt haben könnte.

Die Vermessung des Himmels, der Erde und des Geistes

Das 17. Jahrhundert ist geprägt durch einen Paradigmenwechsel. Bis jetzt waren den Wissenschaften durch die Kirche enge Grenzen gesetzt. Alles, was die Existenz eines göttlichen Heilsplans infrage stellte, war verpönt, wenn nicht gar unterdrückt. Doch Seefahrer und Kaufleute konnten auf Sternenkunde und Kartografie nicht verzichten – und so wurden Himmel und Erde mit neuen Methoden erkundet und vermessen. Diesen Fortschritt hält Jan Vermeer in zwei berühmten Parallelgemälden fest: 1668 malt er den „Astronom“ und beginnt noch im gleichen Jahr mit dem „Geographen“.

Zur gleichen Zeit stellt Baruch de Spinoza sein Gedankengebäude auf, demzufolge es keinen Dualismus zwischen dem Weltgeschehen auf der einen Seite und einer Gottheit auf der anderen Seite gibt, sondern eine Einheit von Gott und der Welt. Mit diesem bahnbrechenden Ansatz wird der Philosoph zu einem der großen Wissenschaftler des 17. Jahrhunderts.

Für Jan Vermeer hätte er demnach neben dem Astronomen und dem Geographen das dritte Wissenschafts-Motiv liefern können. Zumal der Maler den ebenfalls im niederländischen Delft lebenden Spinoza ja kannte. Vielleicht hat Vermeer bei ihm sogar jene Linsen bestellt, mit Hilfe derer er seine bis heute einzigartigen Lichteffekte auf schattigen Grund gesehen haben könnte. Doch wie nachhaltig der Einfluss des anonym veröffentlichten philosophischen Werks Spinozas auf die moderne Welt sein sollte, wurde erst später klar. Mit dem Wissensvorsprung von mehr als 250 Jahren malt Wolfgang Beltracchi den Philosophen in einer Stube, wie sie schon für den Astronomen und den Geographen zur Kulisse wurde.

Orientiert an den Gemälden „Der Astronom“ und „Der Geograph“ hat das Team von ZOTT Artspace eine Vermeer-Stube nachgebaut. Mit Testaufnahmen wie dieser wird der Bildaufbau überprüft.

Am Anfang steht „der Punkt“. Die ersten Untermalungen kommen auf die Skizze, die jedes Detail festlegt, mit dem besonderen Augenmerk auf den Fluchtpunkt und die davon ausgehend korrekte Perspektive. Die Linse dient als Metapher für das neue Sehen und den neuen Geist der Zeit.

Die Fotografie zeigt die Lichtpunkte auf dem Tintenfass, die durch Spiegelungen und Reflexionen des Lichts auf der Oberfläche entstehen.

So kann der Maler die für die Handschrift Vermeers charakteristischen Lichtpunkte setzen.

Das goldene Zeitalter

Von der wirtschaftlichen Blütezeit der jungen Republik der Niederlande profitierten die Künste in beispiellosem Ausmaß. Mitte des 17. Jahrhunderts sollen jährlich mehrere zigtausend Werke auf den Markt gespült worden sein. Obwohl nur noch rund zehn Prozent davon existieren, sind die Niederländer in fast allen Museen mit alter Kunst vertreten.

1. Erfolg ganz plastisch

Das goldene Zeitalter bringt Händler, Kaufleute, Handwerker, Bauern zu Wohlstand. Ihren Status wollen sie in der Kunst entdecken. Die Darstellung der alltäglichen Welt, insbesondere der des Bürgertums, rückt in den Fokus.

2. Täuschend echt

Rembrandt, Vermeer oder van der Spelt messen ihre Fähigkeiten an der Realitätsnähe ihrer Gemälde – ganz nach dem berühmten Vorbild der Antike: Damals setze sich Parrhasius mit einem täuschend echt gemalten Vorhang als besserer Maler gegenüber seinem Widersacher Zeuxis durch. Rembrandt wiederholt die Täuschung in „Die heilige Familie mit Vorhang“.

3. Räume schaffen

In der Anwendung der Perspektive zeigt sich ein Erbe der Renaissance. Durch starke Verkürzungen erhöhen die Maler jetzt die Tiefenwirkung und weiten die Bildräume aus. Diese Methode wird nicht nur auf Landschaftsmotive angewendet, sondern auch auf Ateliers, Stuben, Innenhöfe oder Festtagssäle.

4. Heimatliebe

1648 errangen die Niederlande die bitter erkämpfte Unabhängigkeit von der spanischen Krone. Die patriotischen Gefühle der Künstler schlagen sich in einem Faible für die Malerei unverkennbar niederländischer Landschaften nieder.

5. Nischenleben

Weniger namhaften Maler suchen ihr Glück mit einem Spezialgebiet. Neben der typischen Landschafts- oder Porträtmalerei setzt manch einer auch auf ausgefallene Nischen, wie z.B. Fischstilleben.

Weitere Epochen im Kairos-Projekt

 

Vorbilder auf Putz
Römische Antike

Göttliche Bilder
Byzantinische Ikonenmalerei

Tränensäcke und Doppelkinn
Deutsche Renaissance

KAIROS
Der richtige Moment